Introduction

About 2,000 years ago in Jericho, a very short man climbed a tree.  He was curious–perhaps he had learned that tree climbing was the only way to see what was happening.  Or perhaps he had never climbed a tree before but was determined to see just what was going on.  Whatever the case may be, by climbing that tree to improve his view, he made himself visible to Jesus Christ, who said, “Zacchaeus, come down immediately. I must stay at your house today.”  His life was changed forever, his soul for all eternity.

I can identify with at least part of this.  I’m five-foot-four with incredible calf muscles from straining on tiptoe to see what’s happening.  I’m also infamous among my friends for climbing trees, and many have beckoned me, “Elizabeth, come down immediately.  We’re supposed to meet everyone for dinner at 5:30.”

Martin the frog
Martin the frog: a visitor at the fringes of the campsite.

I must admit I enjoy taking the time on hikes to watch the little things–toads hopping through leaf litter, mushrooms growing at the base of a tall tree, a bird climbing up and down a tree trunk.  I feel that these are hidden treasures God has placed throughout our day.  He created the earth in such a way that it all fits and runs together with fascinating intricacy, and in that design we can learn a little more about Him.

It is a shame when people say that science and religion are at odds (forgetting that many religious and priests have offered such important contributions as genetics and the Big Bang, not to mention that modern science only arose in a Christian society).  In this blog I hope to explore a little bit about how science and nature interact with God and with religion.  I am Roman Catholic, so my background is strongly colored by the Catholic Church, and that is the perspective I can best provide.  I don’t claim to be an expert; I just love God and I love His creation, and I love looking at the way the two work together.  These will be my musings on all things God-science-nature related.

The story of Zacchaeus closes with Jesus saying, “the Son of Man came to seek and to save the lost.”  All of creation points towards Him.  A rose can be a sign.  A hike can be a prayer.  My life’s mission is climbing trees to see Jesus better.

Leave a Reply

